The Ministry is headed by the Minister assisted by five Ministers of State namely:

  1. General Duties
  2. Planning
  3. Investment
  4. Privatization
  5. Micro Finance and Enterprise Development

The Permanent Secretary/Secretary to the Treasury (PS/ST) is the Chief Executive. He is assisted by the Deputy Secretary to the Treasury.

The Ministry has three Directorates namely:

  1. Budget
  2. Economic Affairs
  3. Accountant General’s office

The Department of Finance and Administration, provides managerial and administrative support to the Ministry. The Under Secretary heads the Department and is the Accounting Officer.

Directorate of Budget

The Directorate of Budget consists of three departments:

  1. Budget Policy and Evaluation
  2. Infrastructure and Social Services
  3. Public Administration

The Budget Directorate is responsible for the initiation, formulation, co-ordination, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation of budgetary policies and procedures. It ensures that Government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies are allocated the financial resources necessary for the execution of its programs.

The functions include:

  1. Development and monitoring appropriate policies and strategies that guide annual and medium term expenditure
  2. Preparation of the annual National Budget and medium term expenditure allocations
  3. Formulation, review and appraisal of projects and programs in liaison with line Ministries and Institutions
  4. Review and update of the Public Investment Plan
  5. Execution and monitoring of the annual National Budget
  6. Coordination of releases of funds for both recurrent and development activities in Central and Local Governments

Directorate of Economic Affairs

This Directorate is comprised of four departments:

  1. Macroeconomic Policy
  2. Tax Policy
  3. Economic Development Policy & Research
  4. Aid Liaison

The objectives of the Directorate include effective management of resource inflows; stable macroeconomic framework, and economic development planning.

The functions include:

  1. Formulation of tax policies aimed at generating domestic revenue for Government expenditure
  2. Development of appropriate fiscal and monetary policies
  3. Preparation of medium and long term development plans in association with The National Planning Authority
  4. Coordination of policies that promote institutional capacity and development of the public and private sector
  5. Mobilization of domestic and external resources
  6. Formulation of strategies for appropriate external and internal public debt management
  7. Facilitation of trade and Regional integration initiatives within the East African Community, and the COMESA region
  8. Harmonization and monitoring of the National Public Procurement Policy with International and Regional Organizations’ Procurement and Trade Policy Agreements

Accountant General’s Office

The Accountant General’s office comprises five departments namely:

  1. Technical and Advisory Services
  2. Treasury Services
  3. Financial Management Services
  4. Inspectorate and Internal Audit
  5. Uganda Computer Services

The Office of the Accountant General is responsible for initiating, formulating, and coordinating of policy for management of public funds, assets, and debt. It provides guidelines and procedures for management of public funds.

The functions of the Office of the Accountant General include:

  1. Production of timely, accurate and reliable financial management information that meets professional standards and conforms to internationally accepted best practices
  2. Overseeing and implementation of the Integrated Financial Management System (IFMS)
  3. Ensuring the appropriateness of internal control systems and internal audit functions throughout Government
  4. Providing the overall framework for control of public resources and expenditure
  5. Ensuring that Accounting Officers observe the PFAA 2003 and associated Financial Regulations
  6. Setting standards for professionalism for Accounts Cadres in Government
  7. Ensuring that provision is made for the security of Government’s financial and non-financial assets
  8. Maintaining a register of public debt
  9. Management of fiscal data for Government Departments and Agencies
  10. Provision of information technology related support services to Government Ministries and Agencies
  11. Financial transaction processing and reporting